Get Involved

Audubon Christmas Bird Count - Vermont Circles

The Audubon Christmas Bird Count isn’t just about counting birds, it’s about checking the pulse of the ecosystem we share and delivering practical conservation results based on what we find. The Audubon Christmas Bird Count mobilizes more than 70,000 volunteer bird counters in more than 2,400 locations across the Western Hemisphere, from above the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. Learn more about the history of the Audubon Christmas Bird Count and view past years' results.

Audubon Christmas Bird Counts are conducted between December 14 to January 5, inclusive dates, every year. Your local count will occur on one day between those dates. Participate in as many counts as you wish!

Find an Audubon Christmas Bird Count near you.

View Audubon's interactive Christmas Bird Count map to find circles in Vermont and throughout the world: audubon.org/content/join-christmas-bird-count

Listing of Audubon Christmas Bird Count Circles in Vermont:

VERMONT COUNTS (view map):

Barnet
Jan. 1, 2022
Contact: Jeff MacQueen – jmacqueen65@gmail.com

Bennington
Dec. 18. 2021
Contact: Kevin Hemeon –kevinhemeon6@icloud.com

Brattleboro
Dec. 18, 2021
Contact: Cory Ross – coryross24@gmail.com

Sign-up – https://www.sevtas.org/christmas-bird-count

Burlington
Dec. 19, 2021
Contact: ElizabethSpinney – burlingtoncbc@gmail.com
Compiler: Eric Lazarus – lazericus@gmail.com

Champlain Islands/St. Albans
Dec. 19, 2021
Contact: Terry Marron – tgmarron@comcast.net

East Franklin County
Jan. 1, 2022
Contact: Annette Goyne –  east.franklin.vt.cbc@gmail.com

Ferrisburgh
Dec. 18, 2021
Contact: Mike Winslow – mikekira@myfairpoint.net

Hanover-Norwich
Jan. 1, 2022
Contact: Nancy Martin and Walter Ellison – borealdee@gmail.com

Hinesburg-Huntington
Jan. 1, 2022
Contact: Paul Wieczoreck – mgcpw@gmavt.net

Hunger Mountain
Contact: Zach Cota-Weaver- zcotaweaver@gmail.com

Island Pond
Dec. 14, 2021
Contact: Bob Stymeist - bobstymeist@gmail.com

Lamoille County
Contact: Noel Dodge – noel.dodge@gmail.com

Mad River Valley/Northfield
Dec. 17, 2021
Contact: Mad Birders – info@madbirders.org

Middlebury
Dec. 19, 2021
Contact: Jim and Kris Andrews – jandrews@middlebury.edu or 802-352-4734

Mt. Abraham
Jan. 2, 2022
Contact: Randy Durand – durand@gmavt.net

Plainfield
Dec. 18, 2021
Contact: Sean Beckett – sean@northbranchnaturecenter.org
signup: https://northbranchnaturecenter.org/christmas-bird-count/ 

Plattsburgh, NY (reaches the VT Champlain islands)
Dec. 19, 2021
Contact: Michael Burgess – mburg005@plattsburgh.edu

Randolph Area
Dec. 18, 2021
Contact: Brian Lowe – vtbirdguy@yahoo.com

Rutland
Jan. 2, 2022
Contact: Rutland Audubon – birding@rutlandcountyaudubon.org

Saxton’s River
Dec. 18, 2021
Contact: Don Clark – sapsbks@gmail.com

Springfield
Dec. 19, 2021
Contact: Marianne and Michael Walsh – mwalsh@vermontel.net

Tri-County (Essex and nearby towns)
Dec. 16, 2021
Contact: Maeve Kim – maevekim7@gmail.com

Winhall/Windham
Dec. 18, 2021
Contact: Ruth Stewart – birder_rws@outlook.com

Woodstock
Dec. 16, 2021
Contact: Sally Laughlin – sblaughlininvt@gmail.com

 

How you can help, right now