Get Involved

Audubon Christmas Bird Count - Vermont Circles

The Audubon Christmas Bird Count isn’t just about counting birds, it’s about checking the pulse of the ecosystem we share and delivering practical conservation results based on what we find. The Audubon Christmas Bird Count mobilizes more than 70,000 volunteer bird counters in more than 2,400 locations across the Western Hemisphere, from above the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. Learn more about the history of the Audubon Christmas Bird Count and view past years' results.

Audubon Christmas Bird Counts are conducted between December 14 to January 5, inclusive dates, every year. Your local count will occur on one day between those dates. Participate in as many counts as you wish!

Find an Audubon Christmas Bird Count near you.

View Audubon's interactive Christmas Bird Count map to find circles throughout the world: audubon.org/content/join-christmas-bird-count

Listing of Audubon Christmas Bird Count Circles in Vermont:

VERMONT COUNTS (view map):

Barnet
Jan. 1, 2018
Contact: Charlie Brown – ccbrowne63@gmail.com

Bennington

Contact: Kevin Hemeon – mariekevinhemeon@msn.com

Brattleboro
Dec. 16 2017
Contact: Cory Ross – coryross24@gmail.com

Burlington (the 70th Anniversary!)
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact:  Shirley Johnson – rjsj489@comcast.net
Compiler: Eric Lazarus – lazericus@gmail.com

Champlain Islands/St. Albans
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact: Terry Marron – tgmarron@comcast.net

East Franklin County

Contact: Eddy Edwards – eddy_edwards@fws.gov

Ferrisburgh

Contact: Mike Winslow – mikekira@myfairpoint.net

Hanover-Norwich
Jan. 1, 2018
Meet in front of Hopkins Center in Hanover, N.H. at 7am
Contact: Daniel Crook – dc178@hotmail.com

Hinesburg-Huntington

Contact: Paul Wieczoreck – mgcpw@gmavt.net

Hunger Mountain (NEW!)
Dec. 26, 2017
Contact: Zach Cota-Weaver- zcotaweaver@gmail.com

Island Pond

Contact: Jayson Benoit – jayson@northwoodscenter.org

Lamoille County

Contact: Noel Dodge – noel.dodge@gmail.com

Mad River Valley/Northfield
Dec. 15, 2017
Contact: Mad Birders – info@madbirders.org

Middlebury

Contact: Jim Andrews – jandrews@middlebury.edu

Mt. Abraham
Dec. 16, 2017
Contact: Randy Durand – durand@gmavt.net

Plainfield
Dec. 16, 2017
Contact: Chip Darmstadt – chip@NorthBranchNatureCenter.org

Plattsburhg, NY (reaches the VT Champlain islands)
Dec.
Contact: Michael Burgess – mburg005@plattsburgh.edu

Randolph Area

Contact: Brian Lowe – vtbirdguy@yahoo.com

Rutland
Dec. 30, 2017
Contact:Rutland Audubon – birding@rutlandcountyaudubon.org

Saxton’s River

Contact: Don Clark – sapsbks@gmail.com

Springfield

Contact: Hugh Putnam – putnams@vermontel.net  or 802-886-8430

Winhall/Windham

Contact: Ruth Stewart – birder_rws@outlook.com

Woodstock (43rd Year!)
Dec. 14, 2017
Contact: Sally Laughlin – slaughlin@myfairpoint.net

 

How you can help, right now