Get Involved

Audubon Christmas Bird Count - Vermont Circles

The Audubon Christmas Bird Count isn’t just about counting birds, it’s about checking the pulse of the ecosystem we share and delivering practical conservation results based on what we find. The Audubon Christmas Bird Count mobilizes more than 70,000 volunteer bird counters in more than 2,400 locations across the Western Hemisphere, from above the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. Learn more about the history of the Audubon Christmas Bird Count and view past years' results.

Audubon Christmas Bird Counts are conducted between December 14 to January 5, inclusive dates, every year. Your local count will occur on one day between those dates. Participate in as many counts as you wish!

Find an Audubon Christmas Bird Count near you.

View Audubon's interactive Christmas Bird Count map to find circles throughout the world: audubon.org/content/join-christmas-bird-count

Listing of Audubon Christmas Bird Count Circles in Vermont:

Barnet
Jan. 1, 2017
Contact: Charlie Brown – ccbrowne63@gmail.com

Bennington
Dec.
Contact: Kevin Hemeon – mariekevinhemeon@msn.com

Brattleboro
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Bob Engel – bengel@marlboro.edu

Burlington
Dec. 18, 2016
Contact:  Shirley Johnson – rjsj489@comcast.net
Compiler: Eric Lazarus – ericlazarus@myfairpoint.net

Champlain Islands/St. Albans
Dec. 18, 2016
Contact: Terry Marron – tgmarron@comcast.net

East Franklin County
Jan. 1, 2017
Contact: Eddy Edwards – eddy_edwards@fws.gov

Ferrisburgh
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Mike Winslow – mikekira@myfairpoint.net

Hanover-Norwich
Jan. 1, 2017
Meet in front of Hopkins Center in Hanover, N.H. at 7am
Contact: Daniel Crook – dc178@hotmail.com

Hinesburg-Huntington
Dec. 31, 2016
Contact: Paul Wieczoreck – mgcpw@gmavt.net

Hunger Mountain (NEW!)
Dec. 26, 2016
Contact: Zach Cota-Weaver- zcotaweaver@gmail.com

Island Pond
Dec. 15, 2016
Contact: Jayson Benoit – jayson@northwoodscenter.org

Lamoille County
Dec. 31, 2016
Contact: Noel Dodge – noel.dodge@gmail.com

Mad River Valley/Northfield
Dec. 16, 2016
Contact: Mad Birders – info@madbirders.org

Middlebury
Dec. 18, 2016
Contact: Jim Andrews – jandrews@middlebury.edu

Mt. Abraham
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Randy Durand – durand@gmavt.net

Plainfield
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Chip Darmstadt – chip@NorthBranchNatureCenter.org

Plattsburgh, NY (reaches the VT Champlain islands)
Dec.
Contact: Michael Burgess – mburg005@plattsburgh.edu

Randolph Area
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Brian Lowe – vtbirdguy@yahoo.com

Rutland
Jan. 2, 2017
Contact:Kathleen Guinness – kathleenguinness63@gmail.com

Saxton’s River
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Don Clark – sapsbks@gmail.com

Springfield
Dec. 18, 2016
Contact: Hugh Putnam – putnams@vermontel.net or 802-886-8430

Winhall/Windham
Dec. 17, 2016
Contact: Ruth Stewart – birder_rws@outlook.com

Woodstock
Dec. 15, 2016
Contact: Sally Laughlin – slaughlin@myfairpoint.net

 
 
 
 

How you can help, right now